A sunny and historic unveiling
On Sunday 26th September, on probably the last warm sunny evening of the year, around 90 members of the Twickenham Park Residents Association (TPRA) gathered at the original Victorian pillars of Park House Mansion in East Twickenham.
They were there to toast Dave Wilson at 88, one of the longest serving members of the committee, who for more than 20 years has with the help of a relative amassed a huge and fascinating history of Twickenham Park on its comprehensive website.
The plaque, funded by Richmond Council, has a Victorian picture of the imposing house, which was demolished in 1929 in order to extract the gravel underneath it. The gravel pit was reputedly filled in with rubble from the recently demolished Bank of England. In the mid 1930s a magnificent road of art deco semis was built in what is now Park House Gardens.